Skip to content

best ever goes bad

December 12, 2008

One of my favorite posts on this blog is called Best Ever and it’s about Maggie’s blanket.  I knit the blanket before she was born, before I even knew she would be a she.  I couldn’t have known what a big part of our lives one little blanket would become.

Day Two

Maggie was two days old with her blanket by her side in that picture (and now that I think about it, she looks like she’s trying to get her thumb into her mouth!).  Here she is this morning, blanket by her side and thumb in her mouth.

maggie

The past few weeks have been rough for the blanket.  It went from mildly ragged to State of Emergency.

poor old blanket

You can see that I repaired a hole once, but this time the unraveling happened quickly and with a ferocity that I was unprepared for.  I won’t dare wash it anymore (stinky!) and the blanket is used almost daily for games of tug-o-war between Maggie and Jerry.  I cringe, I really do.

Coincidentally, a few weeks ago Maggie asked me to knit her a new blanket.  I was elated!  I got more yarn (same exact shade of Plymouth Encore Worsted, #668!) and cast on.  Since then I’ve heard everything from “that’s not my blanket” to “can I have it now?”  Two year olds cannot be taken at their word.

sad old blanket

In light of the rapid deterioration of the original blanket, I’m glad we have a plan for a new one.  But I wonder how we’ll transition from old to new and if she’ll be interested in a different blanket.  I don’t want tears.

Maggie and her old blanket

The whole feeling, smell, texture, weight of the old blanket is what she cherishes.  The new one, well, it’s just a blanket.

new blanket

I’ll let you know how it goes…

edited –  just if you’re interested:

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2008 1:22 pm

    i love that she requested a new blanket. i hope she loves it as much as her old one!

  2. December 12, 2008 1:56 pm

    That’s one of my favorite posts of yours too! I still remember her little toes peeking out!

  3. December 12, 2008 4:42 pm

    my favorite part of that was when she eats the fuzzies!
    Juliana is like that about her bunny,. we had a backup one and she has never gotten attached to it. She says it doesn’t smell like pasta.

  4. December 12, 2008 5:07 pm

    When my son’s blanket reached a dire state of raggedness, I sewed his old one to his new one, so that he could still have all his “favorite parts,” but that it wasn’t just a shredded rope of a blanket.

  5. December 12, 2008 6:19 pm

    Don’t you love it that she cherishes it so?! I quilted a blanket for my daughter where she has worn soft spots into it. When I told her I was quilting her a new one, she asked me not to forget to put the soft spots in.

  6. December 12, 2008 7:06 pm

    So sweet. Be thankful. The blanket I knit for our son was never used–he preferred flannel Gerber blankets. Gah. So I didn’t even knit one for our daughter. She prefers a Carter’s fleece blanket.

  7. December 12, 2008 7:55 pm

    she is just so adorable. and a lovely age. and there is definitely something about babies and blankets. it was a blanket that really kick started the last 2½ years of me knitting like a maniac. a shetland shawl for alba who loves to wrap herself into the blanket and say: look at me, i am beautiful. hm hm.

  8. December 13, 2008 5:11 pm

    awwww

  9. Jamieat50 permalink
    December 13, 2008 8:02 pm

    Your Maggie is so utterly adorable, and I love seeing your latest projects for her! Can any of the yarn from the old blankie be salvaged, perhaps to become a border on the new one? I wonder if every baby blanket shouldn’t be knit as twins, to be rotated from in-use to in the washer, to extend the beloved things’ life cycle?

    Good luck.

  10. December 14, 2008 4:44 pm

    Baby blankets are so special to us knitters! She’ll love the new one. Both of my kids are fickle about the knits, too, but I think she’ll appreciate it when it’s finished.

  11. December 15, 2008 6:49 pm

    Oh, please let me know how this goes! My 3.5 year old has a knit blanket (lovey sized) that is holding up decently but I do wonder about it getting lost, etc and have considered making a back-up. She’s adorable!

  12. December 15, 2008 6:54 pm

    Aw, blanket love! I hope the new one makes the cut :-)

  13. Betty permalink
    February 6, 2012 11:21 pm

    I love this blanket. Do you still have the patterns? I would love to knit this for a gift.

Leave a Reply

