Skip to content

First Grade, Fiddleheads, and Fathers.

June 15, 2008

Jerry has finished his first year of school. It was a fine year, but we’re very happy that it’s over and behind. We’re hoping first grade will be better, is all I will say. Here is he, my boy, on the first day and the last. He looks the same, but he’s bigger/heavier/taller than that first day.

first day, last day

Congratulations, Jerry, for making the Honor Roll, getting a Writing Award, achieving Perfect Attendance, and being an all around great boy. Love you!

If what you’re here for is knitting, then you are in luck today for I’ve got a doozy to show you. I showed them here before, but the color was all wrong. Here’s a better picture.

fiddlehead
swoon.

Pattern: Fiddlehead Mittens by Adrian Bizilia, Hello Yarn.
Outside Mitten Yarn: MC – Cascade 220, some teal color from my stash. CC – Handspun by me using, what else, Hello Yarn dyed Romney top in the color ‘Threatened by Rust’ (fiber pic here by Adrian).
Inside Mitten Yarn: Dolce by Cascade. An alpaca, wool, silk blend that is delicious, in the Pumpkin color (seen below).
Needles: US 3 dpns.
Ravelry: my project, all projects, pattern page.

found it!

The mittens are not actually finished yet and that is because I am dragging them out as long as I can. They are so very fun to knit I can’t even tell you. See how plump the mitten on the left looks in the picture above?!? It’s crazy.

I would like to draw your attention to the thumbs now. You know, on mittens like these you increase, increase, increase for the thumb gore, then when you have enough stitches you put them on hold until you finish the rest of the mitten. The last thing to knit, then, is the thumb. With a self-striping yarn such as the handspun I used, you run the risk of losing the stripe sequence or wasting a pile of yarn.

fiddlehead

When it was time to knit thumb #1 on mitten #1 (on the right, above) you can see that I ended the mitten with bright orange. From my ball of handspun, I wound off about a ping pong size ball of yarn to get to bluish green of the thumb. Now here’s the kicker. When I got to thumb #2 on mitten #2 (on the left, above) it worked out that the ping pong that I had wound off from knitting thumb #1 was exactly the colors I needed for thumb #2. Perfect luck!

I love them so much that I can’t believe I’m going to give them away. But I am, since it’s the right thing to do. Seriously, when will I ever need triple-layered mittens here in North Carolina? Never, that’s when. So I’m sending them to the Far North, the land of the midnight sun, where they will surely be used and loved (by someone who may or may not be reading closely enough to know I’m talking about her — we shall see).

I just called my Dad to wish him a Happy Father’s Day. He said he had been thinking of me. I asked why and he said it was because he had just seen a woodchuck in his field. Which reminded him of my husband and the raccoons we have in our backyard.

In honor of Father’s Day, here’s a rare picture of Gerald on the blog. He’s showing the kids how to clean a fish.

happy father's day

He is, pretty much, the best dad ever. Happy Father’s Day!!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2008 1:48 pm

    i love those mittens so much! they’re beautiful…and i can’t believe you’re giving them away either! :)

    jerry definitely looks older, taller, and wiser!

  2. carpoolknitter permalink
    June 15, 2008 3:55 pm

    Please, please, please I want to fondle and droool over them before they go away . . . . but the far north is a VERY good home for them I reluctantly admit.
    Jerry is adorable and looks like such a big kid now. Juliet had a great school year, but couldn’t be happier that it’s done with. SUMMER!!!!!

  3. June 15, 2008 4:14 pm

    I think Jerry’s little face changed quite a bit over the course of a year! He’s grown even more handsome, for sure. I love love love those mittens and wish I could do colorwork well enough to make a pair. Yours look perfect and I love that the colors matched up so nicely!

  4. h-spo permalink
    June 15, 2008 6:14 pm

    i can’t even believe that those mittens are making the trip north. i about peed in my pants.

  5. June 15, 2008 8:22 pm

    Beautiful fiddleheads! Congrats to your little guy!

  6. June 15, 2008 11:18 pm

    Wow, I was wondering if you were going to keep those for the three weeks you get under 40 degrees there. They are simply *stunning*. Very beautiful indeed. And Jerry looks so grown up in his last-day photo! I hope you all have a wonderful summer.

  7. June 16, 2008 1:03 am

    Jerry certainly grew up over the school year, hope 1st grade is better for him.

    Mittens – gorgeous. I love the colors you used, absolutely beautiful.

  8. June 16, 2008 7:23 am

    i adore those mittens. and i would give them away to my sister if she lived in alaska too. i suppose they will be used with a vengeance and you will be thought of with fondness on the alaskan icefields (no alaska expert am i).
    but you could knit a pair for your walls as well. they are a piece of art. as pretty much everything adrian designs.
    and the little man is of course wonderful. i think he has matured a lot. it is a very important year he has survived.

  9. June 16, 2008 11:48 am

    First- thanks for not posting a close-up of the fish cleaning! :o) Second- how did you ply your wensleydale to keep your colors together? Third – I love them! And Jerry’s pretty darn cute too! :o)

  10. MOM permalink
    June 16, 2008 3:47 pm

    Your mittens are beautiful, but not as beautiful as your children with their Daddy.

  11. wazzuki permalink
    June 17, 2008 8:20 pm

    O my. Its a while since I’ve seen something that has made me Want to Knit That Right Now. Those mittens really are superb in every way – I particularly like the pumpkin interior. And I for one am intrigued by the fish cleaning. They all look like they are enjoying it.

  12. June 20, 2008 1:15 pm

    Cute kids, fabulous mittens, great post!

  13. June 26, 2008 12:32 pm

    Freakin’ gorgeous mittens. But what really takes my breath away in this post is Jerry. How much he has grown over the school year! Wow. Congrats to him on completing kindergarten, and doing so well. I hope you and the kids are enjoying the summer!

Leave a Reply

