Skip to content

Harlot

April 9, 2008

First off, I want to say THANK YOU to everyone who has bought my hat pattern!! I’m pleased you all like it so much. I’ve been urged by my mother – grandmother of the cutie pictured below – to show you the other sample I knit.

hat pattern

Maggie is happily modeling the smallest size (18″ – which fits a surprising range of head sizes) and I knit it using a bunch of leftover yarns. The main color brown is Paton’s Classic Wool in the Chestnut Brown (231) color. I never really liked that particular shade of brown – I blame a yarn sale for it ending up in my stash – but it works really well with the pinks and purple that I paired with it. The purple yarn is also Paton’s Classic Wool in Royal Purple (212). The bright pink is Cascade 220 in the shade 7803 and the other pink is leftover from a pair of mitts I made my sister-in-law a few Christmases ago. It’s Crystal Palace Creme in Magenta (2013). Not really a worsted weight yarn, but since I only used it for a few rounds here and there it doesn’t really matter. [ I have added this version of the hat as a project in Ravelry so you can see all the yarn info.  And I just noticed today on Rav, you can add a stashed yarn to a project.  Sa-weet.]

I think you can see the colors better in this picture:

Maggie in Hat

If I felt like knitting more of my own pattern, I would try every color combo I could think of. For those of you who have bought the pattern, I can’t wait to see what you do with it!! And thank you again!

Lest you think the title of my post refers to Maggie, I am actually referring to the Harlot that we all know and love who was in Charlotte last night. My Mom and I left the kiddies with their father and grandfather (the first time Maggie went to bed without me!) and drove the 1.25 hrs to see Herself in person.

Yarn Harlot in Charlotte

As I suspected, it was a fabulous time. My Mom got to hold the sock, hopefully giving her the mojo she needs to get her first sock on the pins.

I met Stacey again, who I had previously rubbed elbows with at a yarn sale (rubbed elbows with is a euphemism when we’re talking knitters at a yarn sale, but I digress). She came running over saying, “Zigzag Stitch!” which freaked my Mom out a little, I think.

Yarn Harlot in Charlotte

She was wearing the most beautiful handknit top, and it was her birthday! Happy Birthday, Stacey!

I also saw Susan, who I have been “friends” with on Ravelry for some time now and finally got to meet in person; and Amanda who was wearing a most impressive Sunrise Circle Jacket. Super-fun time all around!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2008 12:46 pm

    Glad you had a great time. My email is not working…will use “old-fashioned” methods later! Was it crowded or what?? So with the exception of Maggie, has the Harlot see all the knitters in your family?

  2. April 9, 2008 6:23 pm

    The little hat looks adorable on Maggie. I like the colors together too. How lucky are you getting to meet the Harlot. Do you ever think one day she will visit Australia as I would love to meet her one day. Wouldnt that be great.

  3. April 10, 2008 8:03 am

    OOh I LUV that pic of us together!! :o)

    It was SO great meeting you and your “mum” (as the YarnHarlot would say! Haha)

    I still freak out when strangers recognize me too and say “CrimsonPurl” Haha! I wasn’t sure if you remembered me. But I guess you would have since I was ripping that Top of the Lamb out of your hands that morning! ROTFL!

    I should have my post up by lunch time today! Come by and say “Hi” ;o)

  4. April 10, 2008 12:37 pm

    Looks like you had a great old time, how fun!

  5. April 10, 2008 3:03 pm

    Yay! And congratulations on your pattern! It’s fabulous. I can’t wait to try it out.

  6. Joy permalink
    April 10, 2008 4:59 pm

    way to go, Mandy, wish I’d known you were headed there,I wanted to go but this week is just way too busy – see you at Spinning Guild later this month or at “the shop” :)
    Joy

  7. knittingelephant permalink
    April 11, 2008 10:28 am

    I love the hat color combo. How awesome that you met the Harlot with your mom–and mom got to hold the sock. YAY!

  8. April 11, 2008 12:17 pm

    The fact that you explained that the title was not in reference to your little cutie was not just a little bit hilarious.

  9. April 12, 2008 10:42 pm

    I had no idea she was in Charlotte. I might have gone. But then, I might not have. I have mixed feelings about her. But it would have been fun to meet you!

  10. April 15, 2008 6:58 pm

    How fun to meet the Harlot and some of your knit world friends!

Leave a Reply

