Skip to content

How to do it: Slipper Soles

January 7, 2008

The Slipper Sole Tutorial has moved to my new blog. Please click here to see the entire post with pictures. Thank you!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2008 5:24 pm

    How cool! Nicely done tutorial!

  2. January 7, 2008 6:53 pm

    Such a smart crafty girl. You rock! Good job with the tutorial too!

  3. crimsonpurl permalink
    January 7, 2008 8:45 pm

    Wow!

  4. January 7, 2008 9:17 pm

    That’s a super great tutorial! I just chucked a pair o’ Fuzzy Feet because of the “air conditioning”. Wish I had known about this! But I guess I can knit myself a new pair of Fuzzy Feet. Thanks for working so hard on this.

  5. January 8, 2008 12:07 am

    Well done, and great photos. Thanks for the inspiration!!!

  6. hspoth permalink
    January 8, 2008 2:44 am

    Dude. Is that a sequin on the bottom of the old purple slipper? Sweet.

  7. January 8, 2008 10:51 am

    Thanks for this! I was just about to start a pair of felted slippers for one of my brothers and was wondering about soles, you must be a mind-reader!!

  8. knittingelephant permalink
    January 8, 2008 2:06 pm

    Very helpful, since I plan to knit myself some snugs very very soon. Thanks a bunch!

  9. January 8, 2008 5:50 pm

    Nice! Can I ask a question? Or two? Why wouldn’t one cover the entire bottom of the slipper? Also, I have held on to an old leather coat just for this purpose, but I see I need suede. Argh. Any suggestions about what to do with this leather coat that I was planning to cut up for slipper soles someday?

  10. January 8, 2008 5:57 pm

    Great tute! I think I need some felted slippers!

  11. January 9, 2008 5:29 pm

    This is an excellent tutorial. Thanks for sharing.

  12. January 10, 2008 12:21 pm

    I have used a hole puncher (small one) in the past for punching leather. Like the idea of making two smaller patches instead of a whole sole. Suede is the “backside” of leather so you can use pieces of leather that were leftover from other project or are part of something scratched and worn you wish to recycle.

  13. January 10, 2008 10:01 pm

    totally excellent!

  14. January 11, 2008 2:21 am

    I love the green fuzzies!

  15. January 11, 2008 9:47 pm

    the tutorial is great and maybe i should make some slippers as the girl living under me is complaining about how much noise my shoes make. the look great. and great for kids too i suspect.

  16. carpoolknitter permalink
    January 19, 2008 1:40 am

    Oh yeah! You can do this to socks for sock slippers, the trick is to stuff them the same size as the feet while sewing on the suede. Recommend not stuffing them with the actual feet, as this might sting a little. And Jen, no reason not to do the whole foot, but it uses bigger pieces of suede, and has less flexibility for walking. Ballet shoes usually have split soles like this.

  17. January 26, 2008 11:05 pm

    You’re so clever! I’m going to have to star this in Google Reader so I don’t forget it when I finally get around to making clogs for myself (instead of everyone else).

    Okay, I just realized that the above sentence made it clear that I am only planning to put soles on my own clogs, and didn’t bother doing it with gifted ones. Oh well. Let them put soles on their own clogs!

  18. January 30, 2008 6:09 pm

    You are a genius. I just made 2 pairs of these guys, and didn’t really want to pay Fiber Trends $36 + $10 shipping for some stupid suede soles. Plus, I’ve had a request for more from my family, so this way I can sole my slippers on the cheap!

  19. deLadyBex permalink
    February 13, 2008 2:16 am

    wow how great I have not seen anything like this for years .I had seen hand made shoes and slippers in the 70′s , and made then too. I had all but forgotten the methods. My deepest thanks for these reminding instructions. They are about the best I have ever seen., by the way you are very syraight forward and dierect in them thanks agaIn and keep up your creative spirit.

  20. Clare Brown permalink
    June 5, 2008 2:08 pm

    I have just worn out my first pair of felted slippers (gutted!) They now look very similar to your purple ones so to find your web page is a excellent as the next pair I make will last twice as long.

    I love the shape of your green slippers, would you be able to let me know where I can find the pattern?

  21. Robin Dikkers permalink
    July 14, 2008 2:28 pm

    I make slippers out of fabric and after walking thru the Jiffy grip soles several times I changed to using denim for soles. I then “decorate” with puff paint to give it gripablility, but the leather makes a nice sole, just never thought of it! Thanks for the idea!

  22. Susan Shaw permalink
    November 17, 2008 8:26 am

    This is brilliant – jsut what I wanted – I have just just made a new pair of felted slippers – I have previously knitted and felted slippers and now I have hand felted some but my old ones have worn through quite quickly and I am definately going to use your idea for soles – Thanks – have the green slippers in the picture been knitted first or are they hand felted – they look lovely and chunky !

  23. Jane Krychiw permalink
    December 17, 2008 10:58 am

    Great Tutorial. Now lets see if I do the clogs and remember where this tut is !

    Also, I have these elbow patches for sweaters in my craft closet that have the holes already punched in. I may be able to use them. So, folks look for elbow patches. Think thrift stores.

    I believe your stitches are one of the following:
    buttohole/blanket stitch, big applique stitch or just a plain overcasting stitch.

  24. Tonya permalink
    January 24, 2009 1:34 pm

    Try going to a thrift store and buying an old leather purse or old leather jacket.

  25. Marita permalink
    March 5, 2009 6:37 pm

    What a great idea! I just got a pattern for Felt Clogs. I can’t wait to knit those. I am going to sew this sole on them when I’ve finished them. I’ll cover the whole sole. A much cheaper way of avoiding holes. Love your website. Thank you.

  26. Trish permalink
    May 14, 2009 5:35 pm

    Thank you!! I’m sooo glad I found this. I have my own Llamas & Alpacas, going to start making alpaca slippers for my boyfriend & my kids. The prices of the leather soles are outragous. THIS is something I love doing, it will be so fun. Please keep your website up, it has been very helpful.
    Trish

  27. June 30, 2009 3:02 pm

    Bravo !!!!!
    great idea… I am planning on some felted slippers for the fall and this will be great to put on the bottom… Thanks !!!

  28. Janell permalink
    January 12, 2010 8:52 pm

    Thank you so much, I have been struggling with how to put soles on my alpaca slippers, can’t wait to follow your easy to understand instructions. Great job!!!

  29. September 17, 2013 4:58 pm

    I like the valuable info you provide for your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check once more here
    frequently. I am slightly sure I will learn many new
    stuff proper here! Best of luck for the next!

Trackbacks

  1. Focus on the Positive at adam knits!

Leave a Reply

