Skip to content

visitors

November 5, 2007

When Holly arrived last week from Anchorage she brought with her no yarn, no needles, nor any knitting accouterments whatsoever. “You have enough for the both of us,” she said. And she was right. Soon, I had her started on a project. There was no gauge swatch, and the instructions were a little difficult to follow in the beginning, but I got her knitting.

Hols

She even filled her suitcase with yarn to take home, thanks to the yarn sale at my local shop. It feels so good to have brought the knitter out of my sister. Also, she served as a very good model for my newest project.

Three spirals.

Pattern: Three Spiral Hat from The Opinionated Knitter by Elizabeth Zimmermann.
Yarn: Super-bulky mystery yarn that I reclaimed from a thrifted hand-knit sweater. I think it’s wool, but I’m not sure. It definitely has wool in it, but maybe some acrylic, too.
Needle: US 11, bamboo circular.
Start: Nov. 1
Finish: Nov. 2

A very fun pattern to knit. What else is there to say? The Opinionated Knitter is my very favorite book and I intend to knit most of the projects in it. You should, too.

Our photo shoot was at The Tanger Family Bicentennial Garden in Greensboro. It is a lovely park and we always try to go when we have visitors (especially if they are landscape architects, like Holly).

act normal

I felt a little bad about promising Holly a hand knitted sweater and then not delivering, but she got my beloved leather coat instead, with the promise to return it to me if I can fit into it again. Yeah right. I mean, I will surely meet my goal of fitting back into the jacket, but will she ever give it back to me?

I must say, she looks damn good in it.

Three Spiral

Speaking of looking damn good, my mom was game for modeling her three-button wrap.

three button wrap

UPDATE:  I’ve had so many requests for this pattern!  For more info, please contact the yarn store, Common Threads in High Point, NC via their website here.  They tell me that lots of people have called and they’ve sent the pattern (and buttons, too!) all over the country.

She loves it, and it looks great on her!

All my visitors are gone for now. I’m a little lonely, but I’m sure I’ll have no trouble getting back into my routine…knitting…playing with the children…not vacuuming…

21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2007 3:25 pm

    They do look good! Sounds like a fun time!

  2. November 5, 2007 4:11 pm

    The hat looks great, I love the spiral. And those buttons on your mom’s wrap are great, I have no idea why, but I covet really big buttons. I realize that’s wierd :-)

  3. November 5, 2007 4:57 pm

    The wrap looks great on your mom! Perfect for this time of year.

    We love heading to the Bicentennial gardens. It is a fun place even in the winter.

    Does she like those Eskimo (how appropo) socks?

  4. November 5, 2007 7:29 pm

    wow nice to have a sister who knits. if mine did i would probably get a sweater for myself every now and again. but on second thoughts this is really the one thing i am just much better at :-)) and the spiral hat is lovely and thanks for your concern. i just steamed mine and realized there was a correction to the pattern on schoolhousepress.com.
    i too adore the big buttons. would make great buttons for an adult tomten as well.

  5. Sarah permalink
    November 5, 2007 7:49 pm

    So strange to see Holly in that jacket. It’s just the Mandiest jacket.

  6. November 5, 2007 8:03 pm

    Lovely handknits, Mandy. It looks like you had a great time with you sister and mom.

  7. November 5, 2007 8:11 pm

    Those big buttons are the stuff of dreams. So I the Opinionated Knitter!

  8. November 5, 2007 10:09 pm

    Not vacuuming is always easy to do. Or, not do…now I’m confused.

    Glad you had a nice fam visit!

  9. November 5, 2007 11:00 pm

    Yes, they do look quite good in their handknits. Having a sister and mom for a visit is the best!

  10. carpoolknitter permalink
    November 6, 2007 3:30 pm

    Can’t believe you let go of that fabulous jacket, but she is a terrific model. I want to knit that hat too! Ah well, back to routine for me too.

  11. November 7, 2007 11:33 am

    Beautiful pictures, gorgeous FOs, and great leather jacket. It looks like an all-around wonderful visit!

  12. November 7, 2007 1:18 pm

    Sweet! Maybe Santa will bring me the Opinionated Knitter.

  13. November 8, 2007 10:27 am

    I guess it’s obvious why, given the time of the year, but funnily enough this is the third “Three Spiral Hat” I’ve seen in blogland today. I love it! Oh, and your finish is really good. Very neat.

  14. November 10, 2007 6:23 pm

    CUTE hat! I will have to go back to that book!

  15. November 11, 2007 2:39 am

    I just finished the 5 spiral hat! But I need to make more.
    Sounds like a great visit, everyone looks well and happy in their handknits and hand-downs.

  16. linda mccurry permalink
    November 11, 2007 11:58 am

    where can I get pattern for 3-button wrap.

  17. Jane Ramsey permalink
    February 28, 2008 4:46 pm

    I would love the pattern for the 3-button wrap, and where did you find the large buttons? I live in Wilmington, NC

  18. Kat Painter permalink
    March 31, 2008 5:25 am

    I’d also love the pattern for the 3-button wrap!!

  19. Shirley permalink
    June 12, 2008 3:06 pm

    I would love to know where to get the 3-button wrap pattern also. Thanks!

  20. Annie B permalink
    July 12, 2008 1:10 pm

    I would love to get the pattern for the 3-button wrap. I live in Houston.

  21. Annette permalink
    August 7, 2008 2:44 pm

    Hi,
    I would love to get the pattern for the 3-button wrap. Can’t wait to get started!
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

