Skip to content

Tape hand!

September 27, 2007

I don’t talk about it much on this here knitting blog, but I love TV. With all the new shows and returning favorites on, I’m glad to have a super boring project to work on while sitting in front of the old idiot box.

three button wrap

The pattern was written by some of the women at the local yarn store. They call it a Three Button Wrap and it is just a rectangle of stockinette stitch with one button hole and three large, beautiful buttons. I know. Boring as all get out, but good TV knitting.

The yarn, Baby Alpaca Grande, is very much out of my price range. Luckily, the wrap is for my Mom; she bought the materials and I get to knit it. I’m already past the excitement of the buttonhole (EZ’s three row version) so now I must knit until I run out of yarn. Six skeins of the lovely stuff.

You know what? This yarn is so soft and slippery and drapey! As I was winding one skein onto the ball winder I must have started going too fast and furious because it flew right off the winder, skited under my bed and disappeared out of sight! It was hilarious (to me). The case of the mysterious jumping baby alpaca grande.

What is not hilarious right now is the sister sweater. I haven’t been working on it much, but yesterday I decided to take it off the pins and measure it. I wanted to check that the thing is coming out the size that I intend it to be.

I did it on purpose?

You know where this is going, right?  It is NOT the size I intend it to be.  The sweater fits me and I am a number of inches larger around than my sister.  Grumble grumble.

Ideas:

  • Rip.  I know it looks like I haven’t knit that much of the sweater, but I can’t imagine ripping this thing.
  • Don’t rip, v.1.  I could finish this one for me, and make a different sweater for Holly.  The trouble is the secret message knit into the hem is perfect for Holly, but it would be SO STUPID to have that particular message on a sweater you knit for yourself.
  • Don’t rip, v.2.  I could finish and see if she likes it, even if it is not the close fitting sweater she imagined.
  • Hide the project away, burn all the notes and forget I ever cast on.

Any suggestions?

Oh yea, and does anyone know what the heck the title of this post is about?  Cool Points for you!  Cool Points will also be awarded to those of you who wish to tell me what your favorite TV shows are.  I love TV!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2007 10:41 am

    The three button wrap looks so yummy. It will be perfect for Buffalo weather.

    Tape hand–non slip stuff??

    H’s sweater. What about some shaping to bring it back down to size. Does the gauge match your swatch? It looks great, BTW.

    TV shows. Dancing with the stars. Grey’s Anatomy. Living with Ed. Designed to Sell. House Hunters. HGTV has taken over my summer tv watching.

  2. September 27, 2007 12:37 pm

    No idea what tape hand is.

    I never watch TV, but I do watch movies while I knit- they’re more familiar and I can concentrate on the project a bit more. That backfires sometimes though…

    The wrap looks lucious. Alpaca is so lovely.

    Holly’s sweater. Ravel just the hem and make it for you? Or maybe she’d like a looser sweater to layer things under?

  3. September 27, 2007 2:53 pm

    I have no idea what “Tape Hand” is, but I’ll confess that it immediately made me think of how my hand felt after spending forever yesterday setting up our new DVR. Yes, I too, love to watch TV.

    I’m looking for some new favorites. I do love Grey’s and I’m still loyal to ER after all these years …

    The sweater is off to a gorgeous start. Don’t rip; make your sister grow into it!!

  4. September 27, 2007 3:09 pm

    So “Reaper” is one of you new shows, huh? I too am something of a TV addict. And I will watch anything with Damian Lewis in it, even if the show will probably get canceled.

    I like the buttony alpaca goodness. And as far as the sweater, maybe your sister doesn’t need close fitting sweater?

  5. September 27, 2007 3:21 pm

    Yay for Reaper!

  6. Kathleen permalink
    September 27, 2007 4:31 pm

    I think the tape hand may be the hand you need to take away from your knitting to fast forward through the ads after you’ve taped all your favorite shows that are on at the same time as your other favorite shows.

    I like Grey’s, Desperate Housewives, Heroes, Lost, Ugly Betty, The Daily Show, The Colbert Report, What Not to Wear. I won’t admit to any more than that!

  7. September 27, 2007 4:33 pm

    Hmmm, is the hem a provisional cast on? Could you just undo it and knit another secret msg (or not) for yourself? I hate it when things don’t come out the way I planned–and that happens all the time to me for some reason.

    I *adore* The Office and am sooo glad to get to watch it tonight.

  8. September 27, 2007 6:53 pm

    I will freely admit I love tv! I don’t know what to suggest about the sweater. It is lovely so far!

  9. September 27, 2007 11:27 pm

    Ooh that pink yarn looks so nice, and it made me laugh to think of you under your bed searching for the runaway skein. I love to knit whilst watching tv too, some of my favourites are Gilmore Girls, House, Ghost Whisperer, and NCIS. We seem to have a lot of american shows on tv, but a few aussie ones I love to watch are McLeod’s Daughters, Thank God Your Here, and Australian Idol at the moment. I dont always get to watch all of them unless the kids are good and go to bed on time. I hope that you can rectify your sister’s jacket too, as it looks too nice to pull out.

  10. September 28, 2007 2:07 pm

    This makes me want to knit! I’m just learning. I’ve got the basic knit and purl but not much beyond that. Nice photos.

  11. September 28, 2007 3:14 pm

    I found you on Ravelry, and I added you!

  12. September 28, 2007 11:11 pm

    If it were me, I would just keep knitting until I was done and then decide who it would be for. If you decide to keep it, you can always re-do the hem. Or keep the secret message as a memento of the process.

    We don’t have cable or an antenna, but we do watch old shows on DVDs. Our current addiction is Scrubs, usually 3 episodes a night. We are going to be SO sad when we finish the series.

  13. September 29, 2007 3:00 am

    Maybe you could bring the sweater back down to size by decreasing stitches/changing your gauge. The part you have knit so far could bell out a bit, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing in a sweater. I have a sweater that is tight fitting at the top and looser at the bottom… Bell the sleeves slightly to match. Would that work with the yarn and the gauge you have now? It would be a shame to lose the secret message.

  14. September 30, 2007 5:54 pm

    Don’t rip it! I did the same thing with a sweater I was designing for my mother — I ended up giving v. 1 to a friend and remade it for her — she loves the second one, because I adapted it a bit for her.

Leave a Reply

