Skip to content

bonnet

September 11, 2007

Maggie and I were jamming out this morning, dancing around the kitchen, listening to our new favorite song (YouTube link). The DJ interrupted with a moment of silence – it was 8:46 am. I hadn’t forgotten what today is, but the sudden reminder caught me off guard. A year ago I reflected and today I will, too, just not on the blog.

Today is a day for a bonnet.

bonnet

Pattern: Bonnet from The Opinionated Knitter by Elizabeth Zimmermann (p. 108, Newsletter #22).
Yarn: Rowan Tweed DK.
Needles: US 3
Started yesterday, finished this morning before the little woman awoke.

I was surprised that when I went to enter this project on Ravelry, the pattern had not been included yet. No other projects? For reals? This is such an easy, quick pattern and the perfect accompaniment to the Surprise Jacket, or any garter stitch project, that everyone should go make one immediately!

The pattern was published in the newsletter that followed the Surprise Jacket because, as EZ wrote, “Response to the Surprise Jacket is so favourable that I am adding to it a bonnet, bootees and bunting; in the same idiom, but not quite so surprising.”

bonnet

I used the discontinued Rowan Tweed DK, knit to a gauge of 5 sts/inch. The pattern calls for 2 oz. of Shetland Wool at a gauge of 6 sts/inch for a child age 3 months & up. So mine came out bigger but perfect for Maggie who is now 18 months old.

bonnet

Maggie did not want to keep the hat on, but she did humor me for a few minutes so I could snap some pictures. I’ll probably have to add a closure of some sort to thwart her attempts at removal.

bonnet

Ihave also been working on updating another EZ project. You may remember the Tomten (Ravelry link) I made Maggie back in the beginning of the year? I always liked the button I added, but thought maybe a zipper would be a better option for a girl on the move. So I finally fixed it! I call the next three pictures “Zipped, Unzipping, and Unzipped”. She was SO done with taking blog pictures.

zipped

unzipping

unzipped

The Tomten is big enough and warm enough to be her jacket for the winter, I think.  Jerry put it on the other day, proving that it will fit children of many sizes.  Mind you, it looked super-silly on a five-year-old boy, but it fit!  Speaking of Jerry, he needs a Tomten.  And he definitely needs more blog time!  Soon, grandmothers, soon.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2007 11:00 am

    What a lovely hat…much better than in the book.lol.

  2. September 11, 2007 1:51 pm

    My goodness, I did not know you were in NYC on 9/11/01. I read your moving reflection–thanks for sharing it again for those of us who hadn’t read it the first time.

    Your knits are always so inspiring. I think I’ll make that EZ bonnet for M–I don’t much like the way her Ear Cozies turned out, lightning bolt and all. That yarn would be much better in garter stitch than stockinette.

  3. Jenifer permalink
    September 11, 2007 3:01 pm

    What a great bonnet! I’ll have to go check my EZ library to see if I have that pattern.

  4. September 11, 2007 3:44 pm

    that maggie is cute as cute can be in her little hat.

  5. September 11, 2007 7:12 pm

    Totally adorable! The bonnet and tomtem too.

  6. September 11, 2007 7:43 pm

    The EZ bonnet is sweet. I need to get my hands on a copy of that book! Your Tomten is one of the best I’ve seen–with button or zipper!

  7. September 11, 2007 10:50 pm

    I don’t know what’s cuter, Maggie or the bonnet…well I know :) I am about to start my first EZ project for a niece, yay!

  8. September 12, 2007 3:09 am

    hi, this is my first visit on your blog, and I love it ! your little girl is so beautiful, with this cute bonnet… I love EZ too, but I didn’t know this bonnet.
    I’ve read some of your archives (not everything, I read slowly when reading in english), I’ve a boy and a girl too, and wearing them in a sling as you are…
    I’ll be back on your blog !

  9. September 12, 2007 6:55 am

    The zipper is genius, Mandy. It looks great! I have yet to try sewing a zipper into a sweater.

    I made that bonnet–I commented on yours over at Ravelry. I will get a new photo up ASAP. I know that Larissa at Stitch Marker made it a while back–hers was the one that made me want to knit it.

  10. September 12, 2007 9:06 am

    What a cute little hat (and the model of course too!) =)

  11. September 12, 2007 3:48 pm

    I was looking at that pattern last night! It looks like it would use very little yarn, and I can’t imagine a cuter model than little Maggie!

  12. September 12, 2007 5:05 pm

    Oh, I cannot get enough of little Miss Maggie. Her expression in the first Tomten pic is priceless, and it looks like her hands are already in motion to get the thing unzipped. Too funny. Love the adorable bonnet, too.

  13. September 12, 2007 6:33 pm

    Maggie looks adorable in her bonnet, and the jacket looks beautiful on her. I love the addition of the zipper too, always keeps the chill out. The colors look great the way you have knit them.

  14. September 14, 2007 11:35 am

    I still love your rockin’ tomten and that bonnet is super cute. I’m hoping someday I have a little girl to knit a bonnet for!

  15. September 17, 2007 9:33 am

    What a precious little miss – and that bonnet is fabulous! Warm and cozy and adorable! I’ll have to look up that pattern for sure. Thanks for the inspiration!!

  16. September 22, 2007 3:35 am

    hello…. what a great hat !!!! I Love it !!!!! and your miss is always adorable…. please see my new little miss on my blog….
    http://httppersobellapixcommyriam13-myriam13.blogspot.com/

    bye…

  17. Justine permalink
    October 18, 2008 6:27 pm

    Hello, I’m stuck on row 11 with the M1? I’m not too sure how to do this and do I M1 for the next 122 stitches, or do I just plain knit? Any help is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

