Skip to content

Leaf Lace Shawl

July 17, 2007

Friends and family often comment on how much knitting I do. Maybe they think I sit around all day knitting while the kids tool around the house unsupervised. I’ll admit that I do knit a lot but usually not during the day. I’ll get up early, brew a pot of coffee and knit until the Mag wakes up. Sometimes I get twenty or thirty minutes of knitting time, sometimes on the very good days, over an hour.

Then I always knit at night for a while. Early bedtimes = more knitting time (and happier kids, but I digress). Sure, there are times during the day where I might sit and knit for a few minutes, but usually nothing more than a quick break between cleaning or washing or playing or reading or wiping.

Unless I’m this.close to finishing a big project. Then I’m the rule breaker.

Leaf Lace

It was last Tuesday when I spent the day knitting. Sure, I cleaned the house and read books to the kids, and prepared meals. But the focus was knitting. I knit every spare moment I could find.

I just had to get the lump of yarn…

leaf lace

…off the needles and pinned out…

In the corner.

…and call it done.

It’s a strange thing, isn’t it? You have been knitting on a fun project and the end is nearing so you speed up. You can’t wait to cast off that last stitch, grab the thing firmly with both hands, shake it a few times and hold it up for all to see. Glorious feeling. Finished!

Leaf Lace

But wait for the sadness, because surely it will come. Not groundbreaking sadness, but still. It’s a little tug in the back of your mind that tells you to pick up the thing, try it on a thousand times, show your husband again, squish it, fold it, take pictures of it for your blog, try it on a different way this time because you don’t want to be all done right yet.

self portrait

I’m over it now. I knit it, enjoyed it, and now I don’t even know where the darned thing is. Something new will come and I’ll start the cycle over again. Man, I love knitting.

Leaf Lace

Pattern: Leaf Lace Shawl by Evelyn Clark for Fiber Trends (S-2010).
Yarn: Araucania Nature Wool, color 27. 2 skeins.
Needles: US 8.
Start: June 30, 2007.
Finish: July 11, 2007.
Finished size: 67″ across top, 28″ deep. I completed eight repeats of chart 2 to get this size on size 8 needles and used only 2 skeins of the Nature Wool.

Leaf Lace

And for the record, I am still not a shawl person.

my freckles

28 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2007 10:09 pm

    Wow, that is really beautiful–it’s the perfect color yarn for that pattern!

  2. July 17, 2007 11:33 pm

    That turned out great. You’ll meet someone who needs that shawl. The color is really nice, it shows the lace pattern off so well.

    Congrats!

  3. July 18, 2007 1:11 am

    It’s beautiful! I love your self portraits, the wool even matches our eyes… but I imagine that was unplanned.
    And I completely agree about knitting- knit like crazy until it’s done, then applause, then who cares? there’s something else to knit!

  4. July 18, 2007 7:52 am

    It’s so beautiful! You really flew through this project. I love the color and it looks great on you!

  5. Kristy permalink
    July 18, 2007 8:41 am

    Beautiful! What a great job. I love the picture of the little admirers standing above the blocked shawl. That’s so cute.

  6. Nella permalink
    July 18, 2007 11:32 am

    “What’s her chin in there for??”

  7. July 19, 2007 12:59 am

    Wow! Great piece. I love the last pic, the green makes your eyes just pop. Gorgeous! :)

  8. July 19, 2007 11:31 am

    It’s fantastic!! I haven’t seen this done in worsted before, I really like it! And the color lends itself pefectly to the pattern. Gorgeous work….on to the next!

  9. July 19, 2007 4:29 pm

    That is utterly gorgeous! And I think us non-shawl people are the perfect candidates for making these in heavier-than-called-for-weight yarn. Then it’s more of a cross between a scarf and a shawl. Much more acceptable!

  10. July 19, 2007 6:51 pm

    Oh my! That is gorgeous!

  11. July 19, 2007 7:44 pm

    Beautiful! Look how it blends with your eyes. Very lovely.

  12. July 20, 2007 12:35 am

    It looks so beautiful!

  13. July 21, 2007 3:49 pm

    this is so great. it matches your hair, eyes and skin so wonderfully well. and the cheerful yet muted green colours are so great. wow.

  14. July 22, 2007 5:53 pm

    You know what? I’m such a shawl person, and I don’t mind at all if you send it to me… (“,)
    The shawl is gorgeous and suits you. Maybe you should keep it after all!

  15. July 22, 2007 9:41 pm

    Gorgeous, Mandy! The color would really bring out your eyes, should you choose to become a shawl person at any point in the future. =)

    I really hope I get my knitting fever back soon. I’ve missed it, I know it, and yet I can’t seem to make it return.

  16. July 23, 2007 12:47 am

    That is lovely. The color, the pattern, just perfect. I know what you mean about not being a shawl person, but for some reason I am feeling the pull after seeing yours!

  17. August 4, 2007 4:00 pm

    I love everything about this post.

    Beautiful, beautiful shawl – brava!

  18. Chelsie permalink
    August 9, 2007 1:14 am

    Such an exquisite color, pattern and finished product! It looks like a shawl woven of fine leaves for a fairy or wood nymph. :-) It’s amazing!

    Sorry for the late comment, but I was being on my blog reading. I couldn’t pass this post without an exclamation! Beautiful work!

  19. August 15, 2007 5:59 pm

    Congrats on making Yarnival! Your shawl is fabulous and looks great as a scarf too!

  20. August 15, 2007 6:18 pm

    What a gorgeous shawl! You did a wonderful job on it.

    I know what you mean about that little bit of sadness at the end of a project. I get it too.

  21. August 15, 2007 8:40 pm

    Found you through Yarnival and I love the shawl! I can completely relate to your story minus the kids :O)

    Great Job!

  22. August 16, 2007 2:04 pm

    I’m usually not a shawl person, either, but that is lovely. Cara (Yarnival) is right, it goes so great with your eyes. I also know what you mean about the little bit of sadness at the end. You describe it well.

  23. August 17, 2007 7:59 pm

    I came for a visit via Cara and I just wanted to say your shawl is absolutely beautiful! It matches your eyes perfectly!!

  24. August 18, 2007 4:51 am

    I love green and with all the suble shades the shawl looks awesome!

  25. August 21, 2007 10:51 pm

    Ooooooooh… that is just AMAZING! I love the yarn and the color – fantastic!

  26. ilovemypublicist permalink
    August 23, 2007 10:06 pm

    your work, your site, your photos, your children are just beautiful.

Trackbacks

  1. Blocked « Land o’ Sunshine
  2. hats « zigzag stitch

Leave a Reply

