Skip to content

GREEN

July 3, 2007

Everything is green. Both of the kid’s most recent hand knits contained lime green. My next two projects, already on the needles, are very green all over the place.

It's Herbal

This is Hello Yarn Fat Sock in “I Want Herbal.” Or just Herbal, whichever you prefer. The picture was taken this morning. I’ve already cast on for a sock that will be my airplane knitting tomorrow. Yes, it is silly because it’s just me and the kids traveling and there will be approximately zero minutes of available knitting time. But I certainly can’t go unprepared. You can bet that if Mag falls asleep in my lap on the plane, I’ll have my sock poised and ready to be knit upon.

Packed in the suitcase is a shawl-in-progress. Simple, enchanting, intuitive, addicting.

leaf lace in progress

Last summer I tried a shawl with lace weight yarn. It did not go well. So worsted it is – Nature Wool, color 27. The pattern is Leaf Lace from Fiber Trends. I’ve been putting in life lines and everything. I feel very good about this shawl. Now, whether or not I will wear a lace shawl is still up in the air. I am a process knitter. And I love green.

I also packed a yarn cake of Cascade 220 to make some easy hats. What color? Green.

yarn cakes!

(Does it look green or gray? In real life it is green. Kinda olive, drab, army green.)

The idea is that I’ll knit hats for the kids. An easy project to have on this trip just in case. And for good measure, I threw some pink yarn into the suitcase. I don’t know what I’ll knit with it, but at least it’s not green.

The kids and I are going up to Buffalo to visit my mom, dad and brother, my grandma, my new cousin and the whole gang. It’s been a while since I’ve been back home and I am very excited. Fireworks at Aunt Linda’s! Swimming in the pool! Eddie! That’s what I’ll be doing for the next week. Happy Fourth of July!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2007 10:30 pm

    That herbal one is calling to me.

    “Buy me, Michelle. Buy me, Michelle.”

    Did you hear it?

  2. July 3, 2007 11:12 pm

    Those are some great green colors. Have fun in Buffalo. We’ll miss you! As always, send Gerald over if he misses noise and chaos. Happy 4th!! The fireworks are in honor of me you know ;) .

  3. July 4, 2007 12:15 am

    Have a great trip! (I love the Hello Yarn, it looks squishy. And, great-looking shawl! I have a shawl on the needles too, and doubt I will ever wear it–and the thing is, I am not a process knitter. Can’t figure that one out.)

  4. July 4, 2007 1:38 am

    Also a green lover here. The shawl is lovely. I didn’t know about last summer’s lace weight disaster… thus the stash donation?
    Enjoy your vacation!

  5. July 4, 2007 1:59 am

    Oh my! I love that yarn! The shawl is looking lovely too!

  6. friender permalink
    July 4, 2007 8:25 am

    Have a great trip! I’m sure you’ll get to knit those socks when all your relatives are playing with your kids. Enjoy!

  7. July 4, 2007 11:28 am

    I love the Hello Yarn selection. The colors are fabulous! I also have that shawl on the needles in laceweight and I’m about ready to rip and go on to something else. Maybe another time I’ll try worsted, too. Yours is beautiful!

  8. July 4, 2007 9:23 pm

    Herbal is beautiful. The shawl is looking lovely. Herbal is beautiful, wait, I already said that.

  9. Phyl Ann permalink
    July 5, 2007 12:59 pm

    I too an a lover of all things green, especially yarns. The grass is not very green just down the road in Greece NY as the weather has been very dry for the past 2 months. Then, as you experienced, it rained for the 4th! Oh well, you’re home and enjoying family. Go to the zoo and say hi to the animals for me. I’m active at the Seneca Park Zoo and my daughter work at the Buffalo Zoo so we are always around the animals. (Even KIP while the grandchildren enjoy everything)

Leave a Reply

