Skip to content

june sweater

June 18, 2007

Three of you voted for Sarah! Thank you so much! Holly (my sister) was the randomly generated winner (i swear!), but I’m gonna give Peggy and Lisa prizes, too, just for the heck of it. I will contact you with the details.

Now, onto the next.

In my constant quest to procrastinate as long as possible on completing my sockapalooza socks, I started and finished a little sweater for Maggie. I started June 13 and was finished the next day.

june sweater

Trouble was, it was way too wide and the bottom edge wanted to roll up. I sat on it for a day, then made some adjustments. First I took off the button band. The I cut off the bottom.

re-doing the bottom edge

What fun! I knit a new border going in the opposite direction with fewer stitches and more ridges and – TA DA! – it doesn’t roll. Actually, it looks really cute. Just how I imagined it.

button

I made the pattern up myself. It’s just a cropped cardigan with 3/4 sleeves and raglan shaping for the arms. I knit it all in one piece and grafted the underarms. My guage was 4 sts/inch using size US 8. The yarn is Lion Brand’s Cotton Ease. Machine washable and dryable! I am usually such a wool snob, but I think I can get on board with this Cotton Ease! Machine washable and dryable! Oh, I already said that.

june sweater

I am calling it the June Sweater because I made it in June. Sneaky, huh?

june sweater

I signed up for Picnik and have been experimenting with the borders and the colors and such.

teeth

Ain’t she lovely?  That’s what you get when you say, “Smile!”

Enough pictures of Maggie yet?  Don’t worry.  I’m planning a Cotton Ease project for Jerry (think Wallaby meets vest) so he’ll get some screen time soon.

Can’t. Stop. Procrastinating.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2007 12:59 pm

    What a sweet little sweater for a sweet little girl! Very cute.

  2. June 18, 2007 1:50 pm

    How incredibly cute! She looks so adorable in it too! I love the color and it matches her dress perfectly!

  3. June 18, 2007 2:31 pm

    I was led here by links on Yarn Harlot, and I just had to say, I cannot decide which is cuter – The little sweetie wearing it or the sweater.

  4. June 18, 2007 4:11 pm

    It looks great. Did you literally sit on it to try and flatten it ;). Will I see it in person tomorrow?

    It looks great.

  5. June 18, 2007 8:22 pm

    Oh my goodness! So cute! Will you right up a pattern? I would love to make one if you do.

    Maggie is absolutedly adorable, I love her smile.

  6. June 18, 2007 10:13 pm

    Very very cute! I like the color and the “invisible” raglan seam, it looks very tidy.
    Did you unravel a row to cut off the bottom?

    And your Maggie is one of the cutest kids ever.

  7. June 19, 2007 1:03 am

    So cute! So is the sweater!

  8. June 19, 2007 9:15 am

    sweater, blanket and girl: all very sweet. great work!

  9. H-Spo permalink
    June 20, 2007 1:47 am

    So Lisa beat me to the comment, but the way you described it made me think that you TOTALLY sat on the sweater to unroll it.

    HA.

  10. June 20, 2007 2:08 pm

    VERY, VERY CUTE!!!!!

  11. June 20, 2007 3:21 pm

    Wow! Great bolero! I like it! The little girl is adorable!

  12. June 21, 2007 10:55 pm

    Oh my gosh!! She could not be cuter!! What a darling little girl wearing the perfect bolero. So cute!
    :)

  13. June 21, 2007 11:50 pm

    Yes! She is lovely!!! And that sweater is freakin’ adorable!!! What a fabulous job you did – on the sweater and the little girl. There really aren’t words for how precious she looks, esp. in that sweet little knit.

  14. June 26, 2007 9:39 pm

    My goodness, she is precious in her June sweater! I love it, and aren’t the new cotton ease colors great?

    How do you get the raglan “seams” to look like that? They look different from the plain old kfb increased (top-down) or k2tog/ssk decreased (bottom-up) lines that I have used before in raglans.

  15. June 27, 2007 10:58 am

    I really like the photos you took of your little one. She is so precious. And the green cropped cardi is so adorable. Great job.

  16. July 13, 2007 3:43 pm

    I love this June Sweater!!! so cute like you say… and the little girl is so pretty also…the color is nice…excuse my bad english please…your little girl is very adorable…and her dresses so well done… do you sew also ???? bye Myriam

  17. August 11, 2007 7:15 pm

    Oh the June sweater is so pretty, and it is in my favourite color too. Maggie looks so cute in it, and is such a perfect model as well.

Leave a Reply

