Skip to content

a very special baby surprise

May 6, 2007

Baby Surprise Jacket

The fig tree in our yard is my favorite thing. The best part of summer is those few days when the figs are ripe but the birds haven’t discovered them yet. We go out back with a big basket and pick until our fingers are sticky.

A warm spell earlier this year had the green buds growing all around, and the mitten shaped fig leaves began peeking out from the scraggly brown arms of our huge tree. Then the frost came back and burned up all those promising little mittens.

Baby Surprise Jacket

Nature has a way of working itself out though, and now among the dried gray leaves are new bright green ones glowing and growing and preparing to be the shade for our precious figs.

It was around Christmas that I knit a sweater for a baby that never came to be part of my family. For about a day we all thought my Aunt and Uncle had finally adopted a baby after years and years of waiting. Gosh – I was so happy that day I couldn’t stop crying! But the news came soon, as it probably does often with adoption, that the baby would not be a part of our family. What can you do but pray that it was all for good reason and part of a bigger plan.

Well, I’m sure you’ve guessed that now there is a baby and he’s at home with my Aunt and Uncle. There was all the waiting, then the disappointment in December, now the excitement and joy and hope (not to mention sleeplessness) that a little one brings. He deserves something special, indeed. So I knit him a sweater.

Baby Surprise Jacket

Pattern: Baby Surprise Jacket from The Opinionated Knitter by EZ.
Needles: US 5, bamboo, long circular
Yarn: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece in colors CW-880 Lime Light (the green), CW-585 Wolverine Blue (the dark blue), CW-555 Robin Egg Blue (the light blue)
Guage: 5 sts/inch
Finished size:

  • Body width: 10″ after increases
  • Height: 11.75″
  • Cuff to cuff: 18.75″
  • Width of cuff: 4.5″ after cuff-puff

Started: April 21, 2007
Finished: May 2, 2007
Mods: None. Since this was my first time with the pattern, I followed the directions exactly trying to get an idea of how it worked. Ms. Frick detailed her BSJ modifications, and I might try those the next time around. Also, have you seen the helloyarn version? Makes me want to pick up my spindle and actually learn how to spin. There’s a wiki, too.

I’ll be sending this BSJ off to my new cousin tomorrow. Hopefully he grows into it soon and feels the love when he wears it.

And the figs? We will have to wait until August for those.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2007 12:44 pm

    It’s such a devastating loss when an adoption doesn’t go through. I’m so glad to hear that your Aunt & Uncle are very happy to have a little guy in their life. What a thoughtful cousin you are–and the yarn choice is perfect. Beautiful BSJ…you should post to Zimmermania, too!

  2. May 6, 2007 1:12 pm

    Those colors look great. I was wondering about how you put the colors together. I love the photo from underneath. Hopefully your aunt and uncle will send you live action shot!

  3. May 6, 2007 2:07 pm

    I love your versio of this sweater! The colors are so cheerful without being too “baby.” I just finished my first BSJ, too. They’re lots of fun!

  4. May 6, 2007 6:03 pm

    What a great little jacket. The colors are so great. And congratulations on your new cousin, how wonderful!

  5. May 6, 2007 11:55 pm

    Your BSJ turned out great! I love the striping on this one. I saw Adrian’s handspun BSJ, and it is truly a work of art. I need to do one of these soon, before my last baby gets too big.

  6. May 7, 2007 5:13 am

    oh i enjoy your knitting skills but even more i enjoy your photography skills that make it so much worthwhile to look at . beautiful sweater and i hope the parents will enjoy it.

  7. May 7, 2007 9:17 am

    Great job! I love the color choices. If I keep seeing these, I’m going to pick up the needles. Someone must need a BSJ… There’s always charity.

  8. May 7, 2007 3:11 pm

    Oh, I’m so happy for your family that this baby is finally here with you! The sweater is lovely and I especially dig those colors!

  9. May 7, 2007 4:09 pm

    Those colors are wonderful. It truly is special!

  10. May 7, 2007 8:17 pm

    Beautiful colors! Great job.

  11. May 8, 2007 9:46 pm

    Oh, it is perfectly gorgeous – LOVE the colors, LOVE the buttons. And congratulations on the new addition to your family. What a sweet treat you have made for him.

  12. May 12, 2007 2:29 pm

    What a gorgeous sweater and a lovely photoshoot. All that greenery looks lovely, too.

  13. May 14, 2007 2:40 pm

    I’ve seen a lot of these sweaters in many different places, and yours is the first one that I’ve seen that makes me want to knit one myself. I looooooooove the colors, and the striping!

  14. August 11, 2007 7:20 pm

    What a beautiful jacket, and I love the colors too. Congratulations to your auntie and uncle too on becoming a little family together with their new baby.

  15. Hildy permalink
    January 22, 2008 5:29 pm

    I’m always curious why people take pictures only of the FRONT of a surprise sweater. For those of us who have never knitted one, it would be very helpful to see the back.

Leave a Reply

