Skip to content

tasseled fez, sans tassels

March 8, 2007

Using leftovers from Jerry’s Wallasaurus, I made this hat:

cute-boy-in-hat.JPG

Well, that is more a picture of my handsome boy….here’s a better picture of the hat:

tasseled-fez.JPG

Pattern:  Tasseled Fez from Hats On! by Charlene Schurch.
Yarn: Cascade 220
Needles: US 4, 16″ circular, bamboo
Start: March 3, 2007
Finish: March 6, 2007

I like it. It was more challenging than other colorwork projects that I’ve attempted because the chart was wider. It took me about one and a half full repeats of the chart to get into the flow. Then I finally got it – you know, intuitively – and it much went faster.

Here’s the top:

top-of-fez.JPG

There was no shaping involved, which was pretty sweet.  You just knit a tube, then sew the top together all fancy-like and then you have a three pointed hat!

With the exception of the tassels, I did not make any modifications to the pattern.  It is very well written – simple and straightforward.  In fact, the whole book is full of totally awesome patterns and I can’t wait to try another!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2007 9:59 am

    Wow… great colourwork! That hat is gorgeous on your handsome boy. (what a cutie!)

  2. March 8, 2007 10:49 am

    I love the hat! The colors are great and the little man looks quite fetching. The Treasure Island tee is the perfect thing to offset the green and blue.

  3. March 8, 2007 12:38 pm

    I don’t know what’s cuter= the hat or the model. Lovely colorwork!

  4. March 8, 2007 3:52 pm

    the hat is nice, but that sweet face under the hat is beautiful!

  5. March 8, 2007 3:57 pm

    Cute hat! Great job with the fair isle, too. But those blue eyes? They’re the real knockout!

  6. March 9, 2007 4:14 am

    Very cool! Your little guy looks very sweet in that!

  7. March 9, 2007 8:37 pm

    Impressive, as always! I love this hat and it’s a perfect fit for him.

  8. April 12, 2007 10:05 am

    I’m way, way behind in commenting on favorite blogs lately. But I had to stop by a month late to say I love this hat! You did a great job, and it looks fabulous on him.

Trackbacks

  1. best ever « zigzag stitch

Leave a Reply

