Skip to content

imperfect, but close enough

August 16, 2006

I finished the hat.

skulls-done.JPG

Jerry likes it, of course.  I kinda like it.  I wish I could be perfect at doing things.  For my first two-color knitting it’s pretty good, just not perfect.  I’ll have to keep practicing.

skulls-done-2.JPG

No great photos, but he was a tough subject to shoot.  You get the idea.

Pattern: We Call Them Pirates, free online pattern from Hello Yarn
Yarn: body in Plymouth Encore DK in colors 217 (the black) and 146 (the off-white), less than one ball each; lining in KnitPicks Merino Style, leftovers from a previous project
Needles: US 2 for body, US 1 for lining; 16″ aluminum circular and bamboo DPNs
Started: August 7, 2006
Finished: August 15, 2006
Modifications:  Besides substituting yarn, I made few changes.  I knit the lining for about 1.5 inches, though the pattern called for 2.25 inches.  The reason was because I ran out of the bit of leftover yarn.  Also, I used US #2 needles for the main part of the hat; the pattern called for US #3.  It fits Jerry quite snugly, so it worked out well.
Other notes: Well, color sranding is fun.  I can’t wait for more experimentation.  While most sources say that newbies pull the floats too snugly, I didn’t have that problem.  I’ll have to work on my technique for shortening the floats, as I didn’t do it very well for this project.

Other stuff.

Well, it’s a little far off, but I’m planning on going to the Southeastern Animal Fiber Fair (SAFF).  I will probably return a changed woman, with lots of fiber to show for it.  It’s my first fiber festival.  I’ve read the survival guide.  I’m excited.  I’ll be carrying The Mag.

Mr. Stegs has been on the needles for a while.  I’m trying to finish him up.  I find all the little bits so tiresome, but yesterday I finally put the spines on the back and it’s too cute not to finish.

Also on the needles is my seventh (seventh!) MDK dishcloth.  At first, I couldn’t understand my obsession with them.  Now I realize that they are the perfect project to work on when surrounded by two small children, whose needs throughout the day often (very often) distract me (the nerve) from my knitting abruptly.  There’s no losing my place or “Mommy has to finish counting.”  I suspect they will make good gifties.  And if I keep going, maybe I’ll make enough to sew into an afghan for Gerald.  His hints at wanting a blanket are quite obvious.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2006 1:50 am

    I think it looks great! Jerry is adorable :)

  2. September 21, 2006 7:08 pm

    The hat looks so cute. I was thinking of giving the pattern a try. I think I’ll have to give it a second look.

Trackbacks

  1. list. « zigzag stitch

Leave a Reply

